Decisions, decisions…

February 25, 2010

At some point this week, I’ll be getting around to kegging the two beers sitting in my fermenters. The chocolate stout has been in secondary for almost a month, so it’s time to get that guy in a keg and start conditioning it in the basement until sometime in late Fall or early Winter. It had a lot of promise the last time I took a sample. The amber ale I brewed a few weeks ago will also be getting kegged shortly. The fermentation has been over for a while now, and the gravity seems to have stabilized around 1.018, giving it ~5% ABV, which is around what I was aiming for. Since I had a cold the last time I sampled it, I can’t make any statement on how it tastes :p

This will give me a tap list of

  • Irish Stout (3.75% ABV, about 1/4 of a  keg left)
  • Imperial IPA (8.5% ABV, about 1/3 of a keg left)
  • Porter (5.25% ABV, not tapped yet)
  • Amber Ale (5% ABV, full backup keg)

That’s a solid tap list, but I’m gonna need aother backup keg soon! 🙂 So, that begs the questions: what to brew next? I’ve got the last bit of Maris Otter malt from my last bulk purchase, though I haven’t weighed it. I have a fresh 50lb sack of American pale malt, and a pack of Wyeast 1028 London Ale yeast. Hops in the freezer are:

  • Amarillo
  • Cascade
  • Chinook
  • First Gold
  • Fuggles
  • Galena
  • Northern Brewer
  • there might be another one that I can’t remember right now

Typically when I want to work on a new recipe, I get stuck deciding between three or four different styles. This time there’s no particular style that jumps out at me.

4 Responses to “Decisions, decisions…”

  1. Bill Swallow Says:

    Take a crack at a dark mild.

  2. darknova306 Says:

    That works. It’ll take a little research, though. I made a standard mild last year and wasn’t overly thrilled with it. Maybe my day of not having work to do will be a good time to read up on them. 🙂

  3. Seth W-G Says:

    Thomas Hardy clone… You know you want to.


Leave a Reply

