Next Brew: Dark Mild Ale

March 9, 2010

Being bored at work, I was able to come up with my next recipe. I got my package of London Ale yeast (Wyeast 1028) into a starter last night, so it was time to figure out exactly what beer it would be making 🙂 To get a quick fermentation and brew a style I’ve never made before, I decided to try my hand a Dark Mild (a sort of sub-style of Mild). It also has the added benefit of exactly using the last of my Maris Otter malt from the 50lb bag I got a few months ago.

Mild Ale

  • 6.5 lbs Maris Otter malt
  • 0.5 lbs Chocolate malt
  • 0.5 lbs Crystal 60L
  • 0.25 lbs Carafa III Special
  • 0.5 oz First Gold hop pellets (10.5% AA, 60 minutes)
  • Wyeast 1028 London Ale yeast (1 litre starter)

This will also mark the beginning of my experimentation with water chemistry. The presence of different ions will impact certain aspects of the beer. I plan to detail my rudimentary understanding of the role water chemistry plays later this week, but for the sake of documentation at the moment, I’ll list the substances I’m adding to this brew:

  • 8 grams chalk (CaCO3) (~4.5 tsp)
  • 3 grams gypsum (CaSO4) (~3/4 tsp)
  • 1 gram Calcium Chloride (CaCl2) (1/3 tsp)

These will be added to the entirety of the 8.5 gallons of water that will go into the brewing process to give me the ion concentrations I’m looking for.

For now I’m still undecided on whether I’m brewing this batch tonight or tomorrow. I’ll update with results from the brewday once it’s over, regardless of the day it happens.

2 Responses to “Next Brew: Dark Mild Ale”

  1. Bill Says:

    Good luck! Looks different from the one Angelos and I just brewed. Will be good to compare outcomes.


Leave a Reply

