Brewday: American Pale Ale

March 25, 2010

This writeup is a few days overdue, but I just haven’t had the time for it. I’m looking to brew an American barleywine soon so I wanted to build up a large amount of yeast by brewing a smaller beer first. On Monday I got a starter going of a standard American ale yeast I had sitting around (Wyeast 1056). On Tuesday afternoon I threw together and brewed the following recipe:

American Pale Ale

Malt

  • 8.5 lbs American Pale malt
  • 1.0 lbs German Munich malt
  • 0.5 lbs British Crystal malt (60L)

Hops

  • 0.75 oz Chinook (Boiled for 60 minutes, 11.5% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 0.50 oz Amarillo (Boiled for 30 minutes, 7.5% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 0.50 oz Chinook (Boiled for 10 minutes)
  • 0.50 oz Amarillo (Added at end of boil)

This was mashed at 152 degrees for 60 minutes using 1.33 quarts of water per pound of grain (~13 quarts). The sparge was about 6.5 gallons of water to collect a total of 7 gallons for the boil. For the approximately 9.5 gallons of total water used, I added 3 grams each of CaCO3, CaCl, and CaSO4 to help protein coagulation (clear up the beer a bit cause it’s going to be pale) and to bring out the hops more.

This one is currently fermenting pretty rapidly at about 60-62 degrees to keep the flavor clean and let the hops come through more. I may raise the temperature once the fermentation slows down a bit to encourage the yeast to attenuate the beer as much as possible. The original gravity came in at 1.050, which is exactly what I was aiming for and gives me the 75% efficiency my system has been maintaining recently. If I get the usual 80% attenuation I typically get from this yeast strain, this should come in around 5-5.25% ABV.

4 Responses to “Brewday: American Pale Ale”

  1. Bill Says:

    Kudos on maintaining efficiency! Do you have a good source for reading up on clarifying agents? Now that we have an idea of the process, we need to start paying more attention to strike and sparge volumes. I can tell we’re close, but fine tuning is needed.

    Congrats on the pale, and let me know how the barleywine goes. Are you going to pitch atop the cake or are you going to make a pitchable slurry?

    • darknova306 Says:

      Clarity for me comes from two places: a bit of Irish moss in the boil, and vorlaufing long enough after the mash for the beer to run clear during the sparge. That’ll help dramatically.

      As for the barleywine, I’m going to pitch directly on the yeast cake. I’ve had great success doing that before.

      I’m going to do some posts that document (with photos) my brewing system. I’ll post information about where all my water losses are and how I calulate my water needs.

      • Bette Says:

        Warsztaty, które odbyÅ‚y siÄ™ 20 i 21 października byÅ‚y zorganizowane w profesjonalny sposób. PomogÅ‚y mi wzbogacić swojÄ… dotychczasowÄ… wiedzÄ™ na temat fotografowania dzieci, niektóre pomysÅ‚y daÅ‚y mi wiele inspiracji. PoznaÅ‚am wspaniaÅ‚ych ludzi! Åšwietnie spÄ™dziÅ‚am czas przez te 2 dni. NaprawdÄ™ polecam warsztaty z NajkÄ… osobom zateanresowinym 🙂 Pozdrawiam, Tatiana!

  2. Kailey Says:

    TGGP,Hugo Chavez sells plenty of oil to us.Venezuelan oil output is stalling because Chavez's anti-business policies are discouraging badly needed investment from foreign oil cogiAnies.amapn, from the perspective of BigOil and corporate America, it's better to install a third world Westernized dictator and bribe him and his associates with money and blond Russian call girls as long he promises to keep the crude oil flowing rather than relying on some unstable Che wannabe.


Leave a Reply

