Porter

March 29, 2010

As I cleaned out the recently kicked keg of Imperial IPA (and mourning its end), I was drinking a pint of my porter that I made just before leaving to visit family for Christmas and realized I never had a chance to blog it. This was my first attempt at a regular non-chocolate, non-coffee porter. It came out pretty well with a solid dark chocolate flavor, some mild sweetness to back it up, and a fair dose of bitterness from the hops and roasted grains. There also seems to be a hint of an espresso flavor in it now. I’d say it’s a nice first try but I would drop back on the roasted grains and hops a little next time to dull the bitterness a little.

Porter

Malt

  • 8.5 lbs Maris Otter malt
  • 0.75 lbs Chocolate malt
  • 0.50 lbs Crystal malt (120L)
  • 0.25 lbs Carafa III Special malt

Hops

  • 1.00 oz First Gold hop pellets (boiled for 60 minutes, 9.5% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 1.00 oz Fuggles hop pellets (boiled for 20 minutes, 4.5% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 0.50 oz Fuggles hop pellets (added at end of boil)

It was mashed at 154 degrees for 60 minutes to give it a bit of body and used Wyeast #1084 Irish Ale yeast to ferment. I left it in the fermenter for about two months, probably because I was lazy, but that probably helped the beer.

Original gravity: 1.058

Final gravity: 1.018 (~5.2% ABV)

Leave a Reply

