Tasting Notes: Dark Mild Ale

April 21, 2010

Originally I posted that the Dark Mild Ale I kegged recently seemed like it was significanly lacking some flavors I wanted in it. After chilling and carbonating it, and having it sit for a week plus, I can say that it’s not nearly as underwhelming as before. Tasting it again, this beer has some light sweetness coming through and the chocolate malt flavor is a bit more pronounced.

This recent tasting of the mild ale is much nicer than the original tasting, and I think I’m zeroing in on what changes I want to make for next time. I think replacing a bit of the base pale malt with another quarter pound of chocolate malt and a half pound more of crystal malt should do the trick. Of course I’m also considering another somewhat “out there” move by possibly adding a quarter or half pound of flaked oats to the recipe. I’ve come to really love the mouthfeel and sweetness that flaked oats provide, and I think they could add the sweetness I’m looking for without needing to add any crystal malt.

Leave a Reply

