A Spicy Experiment: RyePA

April 27, 2010

Given all the free time I now have with my new found freedom, it was a damn shame that I only had one fermenter full of beer last week. I decided to remedy that by brewing my Amarillo IPA that came out so well last year, but my local homebrew stores don’t apparently carry the yeast I need for that beer (yes, it does make a difference with that beer). I decided to grab a standard clean American yeast and brew a type of beer I’ve never brewed before, a Rye IPA, or RyePA for short.

RyePAs can be fantastic beers when done well, my favorite being the Bear Republic Hop Rod Rye. You have to get the right kind of hops to go with the spiciness of the rye, and I chose Chinook with its citrusy-spicy flavor.  I had no clue how much rye was too much or too little, so this is a total experiment. We’ll see.

RyePA

Malt:

  • 9.5 lb American Pale Malt
  • 1.0 lb Flaked Rye
  • 1.0 lb Vienna Malt
  • 0.5 lb Crystal 120L
  • 0.5 lb Caramunich Malt

Hops:

  • 1.25 oz Chinook Pellet Hops (Boiled for 60 minutes, 11.5% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 1.00 oz Chinook Pellet Hops (Boiled for 15 minutes)
  • 1.00 oz Chinook Pellet Hops (Added at end of boil)
  • 2.00 oz Amarillo Pellet Hops (Dry Hops added in secondary, 7.5% Alpha Acid Content)

Mash Schedule:

  • Add 4 gallons of water at 164F to grain, should end up at 150F
  • Mash for 75 minutes
  • Sparge with 6 gallons of water at 170F

This batch is a total experiment, and the brewday was one disaster after another, but I’m looking forward to tasting the final product.

In other news, the barleywine I brewed over a week ago is still fermenting pretty strongly. And the temperatures are staying fairly cool for this time of year, so the fermentation is staying cool enough to avoid producing any fusel alcohols (I hope).

Leave a Reply

