Adapting My Best Recipe

May 10, 2010

At the end of last July I made an all Amarillo hopped IPA as my first try at the style. It’s safe to say I had some issues with that batch, but it wound up coming out amazing. Instead of going back to try to brew it how I intended the first time, I’ve adapted the recipe so I get the same results without relying on my mistakes from the first time, one of those issues being variable efficiency from batch to batch which I’ve now fixed. So, here’s the updated recipe for that as yet unnamed Amarillo IPA which I brewed 4 days ago on May 6th:

Amarillo IPA

Boil Volume: 7 gallons

Batch Volume: 5.5 gallons

Malt:

  • 10.50 lb American Pale Malt
  • 2.00 lb Vienna Malt
  • 0.50 lb Crystal Malt 60L
  • 0.25 lb Wheat Malt

Hops:

  • 1.75 oz Amarillo pellet hops (Boiled for 60 minutes, 7.5% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 1.00 oz Amarillo (Boiled for 30 minutes)
  • 2.00 oz Amarillo (Boiled for 5 minutes)
  • 1.00 oz Amarillo (Dry hops added in secondary)

Mash Schedule:

  • Add 4 gallons of water at 164F, should equilibrate to 150F
  • Mash for 75 minutes
  • Sparge with 6 gallons of water at 170F

Yeast:

The yeast for this batch isn’t just the normal American yeast (US-56), it’s a strain from Wyeast, #1332 Northwest Ale yeast. This strain dries out the beer enough for me and adds a bit of tartness to the flavor that works really well.

This batch gave me the standard 75% efficiency I’ve been getting since I got my brewing system dialed in. The original gravity came in at 1.063, just one point short of what I was aiming for. Next week this one will be racked to the secondary fermenter and the dry hops will be added. I’m very much looking forward to this one. Hopefully it comes out as well as the original.

One Response to “Adapting My Best Recipe”


  1. […] 16, 2010 Yesterday I brewed what I should call a ‘modified’ Amarillo IPA. It’s the Amarillo IPA I’ve brewed numerous times before, but I wasn’t able to […]


Leave a Reply

