Brewday: Rye Session Ale

July 30, 2010

Lately I’ve been on a kick of making beers with rye in them. Rye adds a nice earthy and lightly spicy character to a beer that can be fantastic if paired with the right hops and malts. The rye pale ale I made a couple months ago turned into one of my favorite recipes.

Since my English brown ale, my only session beer on tap right now, is almost gone, I got the idea to replace it with a session beer made with rye. It won’t fit into any official style categories, but I’ve never really cared too much about those. I brewed this session ale yesterday, so here’s the recipe I wound up with:

Rye Session Ale

Boil Volume: 7 gallons

Batch Volume: 5.5 gallons

Malt:

  • 6.00 lb Maris Otter
  • 2.00 lb Munich
  • 1.00 lb Rye Malt
  • 0.50 lb Crystal 120L

Hops:

  • 1.00 oz Amarillo (Boiled for 60 minutes, 6.9% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (Boiled for 30 minutes, 12.2% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (Boiled for 15 minutes)
  • 1.00 oz Amarillo (Added at end of boil)

Mash Schedule:

  • Add 3 gallons of water at 163F
  • Equilibrate to 150F
  • Mash for 75 minutes

Yeast:

The yeast is Wyeast #1332 Northwest Ale yeast.

The starting gravity came to 1.052, so my efficiency was a little higher than I expected, and I think I undersparged by about a quart of water. Still, things went pretty well. I’m not sure what kind of hopes to have for this one, so I’ll just hope it’s got lots of character and goes down easy.

One Response to “Brewday: Rye Session Ale”

  1. beercommdood Says:

    Another tasty rye, no doubt!


Leave a Reply

