First Stout of The Season

September 4, 2010

With Summer finally coming to an end I wanted to get a jump start on making the darker beers that I love drinking as the temperature cools. Last Sunday was the brewday for my first non-chocolate/coffee stout I’ve ever brewed. 🙂 It falls under the foreign extra stout category which can be pretty broad.

This brew coincided with kegging my dark mild ale, so I used the leftover British ale yeast from that for the stout. That got it off to a quick fermentation that finished really quick. In three days the gravity dropped from 1.058 to 1.016 and the sample I pulled tasted really good. I was pretty much going for something nice and roasty, a little sweet, and full bodied without going overboard on any of those aspects.

Foreign Stout

Boil Volume: 7.5 gallons

Batch Volume: 5.5 gallons

Malt:

  • 10.00 lb Maris Otter
  • 1.00 lb Crystal 60L
  • 0.50 lb Carafa III Special
  • 0.50 lb Roasted Barley

Hops:

  • 1.25 oz First Gold (60 minutes, 9.5% Alpha Acid Content)

Mash:

Mash with 15 quarts of water at 154F for 60 minutes.

Yeast:

Wyeast 1098 British Ale yeast from previous batch.

Water Additions:

  • 2 gm chalk
  • 4 gm gypsum
  • 8 gm calcium chloride
2 Responses to “First Stout of The Season”


  1. […] Foreign Extra Stout: I brewed this one in a hurry to get a stout to drink before the temperatures dropped. It did reasonably well at the competition, but I think it could be the base for a much better beer. Haven’t thought about changes to it yet. […]


Leave a Reply

