Brewday: Rye IPA

September 9, 2010

I completely forgot to make a post about it, but on Saturday I brewed a Rye IPA. The first one I made came out nice, but I really wanted to make one that really focused on the rye with a nice dry finish. Only one issue really crept up during this batch, I wasn’t paying attention and wound up oversparging. It’s not that bad a thing, as having a slightly weaker and less hoppy beer will help let the rye come through more.

The main mentionable thing about this batch is that I decided to use first-wort hops for the first time. One of the brewers at work speaks highly of first-wort hopping, so I wanted to give it a try. I run my wort from the mash into a pair of plastic buckets then siphon it into the kettle once all the sparge water is used up. To first-wort hop I just threw the hops into the first bucket as I began running the mash into it, and made sure to get all of those hops into the kettle when I siphoned over to it. Should be an interesting experiment.

There’s not much else to say about this batch. I used what has become my standard pale/hoppy beer water chemistry profile (I really need to do a post about my experiences with altering water chemistry in beer). Other than that the fermentation has been really vigorous, even at 65 degrees. Anyway:

Rye IPA

Boil Volume: 7.5 gallons

Batch Volume: 6.5 gallons

Malt:

  • 10 lb American Pale Malt
  • 3 lb Rye Malt
  • 2 lb Vienna
  • 1 lb Flaked Rye

Hops:

  • 1.00 oz Simcoe (FWH, 60 minutes, 12.2% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 1.00 oz Cascade (30 minutes, 5.4% Alpha Acid Content)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (15 minutes)
  • 0.50 oz Cascade (15 minutes)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (0 minutes)
  • 0.50 oz Cascade (0 minutes)
  • 1.00 oz Simcoe (Dry Hops)
  • 1.00 oz Cascade (Dry Hops)

Mash:

  • Mash with 5 gallons at 163F to get 150F for 75 minutes
  • Sparged  to 7.5 gallons

Yeast:

Wyeast 1056 American Ale yeast cake from a previous batch

Water Additions:

  • 2 gm Chalk
  • 4 gm Gypsum
  • 2 gm Calcium chloride
2 Responses to “Brewday: Rye IPA”


  1. […] Rye IPA: This one is labeled as an IPA made with rye malt, but it really doesn’t fit into the IPA style guidelines. I’m thinking about darkening it and adding some up front bitterness. […]


Leave a Reply

