Brewday: Chocolate Porter

September 18, 2010

Last Sunday, despite having a chocolate stout keg aging in the basement from last year, I decided to brew up a chocolate porter. Something about chocolate in a dark beer just seems to really fit the cold upstate New York winter nights.

Personally, one of the most important parts of a chocolate stout is getting a rich, smooth body into the beer. I do that with oats. Oats add a nice creamy aspect to beer which works really well. The one thing I wish I would learn one of these days is to use a damn protein rest during the mash when using oats. The high protein content of oats leads to a ton of sediment in the fermenter, but spending a little time mashing around 122 degrees to break down those proteins will cut that down dramatically. Unfortunately, I’m too lazy to want to do a double infusion mash, but I’ll do it some day!

For a batch that came out with a starting specific gravity of 1.083, the efficiency I got from the grains (73%) was a bit of a surprise. I’m not used to getting high efficiencies like that on high gravity beers. I’ve been controlling my sparge volumes and temperatures more carefully these days, and sparging a little slower, so hopefully that’s all helping.

Chocolate Porter

Boil Volume: 7 gallons

Batch Volume: 5.5 gallons

Malt:

  • 13.00 lb Maris Otter
  • 1.50 lb Rolled Oats (Quaker instant)
  • 1.00 lb CaraMunich
  • 1.00 lb Chocolate Malt
  • 0.50 lb Black Patent Malt

Hops:

  • 1.50 oz First Gold (Boiled for 60 minutes, 9.5% Alpha Acid)
  • 1.00 oz Northern Brewer (Boiled for 20 minutes, 9.8 % Alpha Acid)
  • 1.00 oz Northern Brewer (Boiled for 10 minutes)
  • 1.00 oz Northern Brewer (Added at end of boil)

Mash:

  • Mash with 22qt of water at 152F for 60 minutes
  • Sparge with 170F water to collect 7 gallons

Yeast:

Wyeast 1098 British Ale yeast cake from a previous batch

Water Additions:

  • 2 gm Chalk
  • 4 gm Gypsum
  • 8 gm Calcium Chloride
2 Responses to “Brewday: Chocolate Porter”


  1. […] seasonal beers for later in Autumn and Winter (November-December time period). Last year I had a chocolate porter and a coffee porter on tap as Winter rolled in. I don’t know how many of you got to taste […]


  2. […] be able to submit the next iteration of my Dark Mild Ale, a combined version of last year’s chocolate porter and coffee porter, and a new version of all the Rye Pale Ales I’ve been making. Hopefully I […]


Leave a Reply

