Brewday: American Amber

October 24, 2010

Yesterday was the day I needed to rack the Citra IPA over to secondary to add the dry hops, which left me with a Northwest Ale yeast cake and an empty primary fermenter. To get some more use out of this yeast, I decided to try my hand at an American amber ale.

I should preface this recipe by admitting that I’ve never been remotely satisfied by my amber ale recipes that I’ve made in the past. Each one I’ve made has had something about it that I really didn’t care for, so I’m hoping I’ve learned enough about the style from those experiences to be able to make a decent one for once.

American Amber Ale

Boil Volume: 7.5 gallons

Batch Volume: 6.25 gallons

Starting Gravity: 1.059

Efficiency: 85%

Malt:

  • 9.5 lbs Pale Malt
  • 1.5 lbs Munich Malt
  • 0.5 lbs CaraMunich 40
  • 0.5 lbs Crystal 60
  • 2.0 oz Chocolate Malt
  • 2.0 oz Crystal 120

Hops:

  • 0.75 oz Columbus (First-Wort, 13.2% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Amarillo (20 min, 8.5% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Amarillo (10 min)
  • 0.50 oz Cascade (10 min, 5.4% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Columbus (5 min)
  • 1.00 oz Amarillo (0 min)
  • 1.00 oz Cascade (0 min)

Mash:

  • Strike with 15 quarts at 165F to reach 150F mash for 60 minutes.
  • Sparge to collect 7.5 gallons

Yeast:

1332 Northwest Ale Yeast

Water Additions:

  • 2 gm Chalk
  • 4 gm Gypsum
  • 2 gm Calcium Chloride
Leave a Reply

