Coffee Porter, It’s What’s For Breakfast

November 8, 2010

Brewed up a porter today that I’m going to ‘dry hop’ with lightly crushed coffee beans. With the temperatures getting below freezing more and more, a rich coffee porter sounded like a good idea.

One of the nice things about this batch is that I was able to continue getting the higher mash efficiency that my recent alterations to my process have allowed. I’m now boiling 7.65 gallons of wort down to 6.5 gallons so I can utilize the 1.5 gallons of dead space in my kettle to leave almost all the sediment and hops behind instead of getting any of them into the fermenter during transfer. The 85-88% efficiency I’m getting from my grains now has also kept me from needing to add more grain to the mash to make up for the extra volume I’m brewing. Win!

After I remove the immersion chiller I’ve been doing a mini-whirlpool by stirring really quickly, then allowing all the sediment to settle to the bottom of the kettle before running over to a fermenter. This has all dramatically reduced the amount of sediment at the bottom of my fermenters and has helped clarify my beer a bit more than before. That’s how my RyePA came out crystal clear without filtration or lagering.

Coffee Porter

Boil Volume: 7.65 gallons

Batch Volume: 6.5 gallons

Boil Time: 60 minutes

Starting Gravity: 1.061

Efficiency: 88%

Malt:

  • 9.00 lb Pale Malt
  • 1.25 lb Chocolate Malt
  • 1.00 lb Munich
  • 0.75 lb Golden Naked Oats
  • 0.50 lb Carafa II Special

Hops:

  • 1.00 oz First Gold (60 min, 9.5% Alpha Acid)
  • 1.00 oz Northern Brewer (15 min, 9.8% Alpha Acid)
  • 1.00 oz First Gold (0 min)

Miscellaneous:

  • Somewhere between 4 and 8 ounces of coffee lightly ground up and added during secondary fermentation

Mash

  • Strike with 16 qt water at 167F
  • Mash at 150F for 60 minutes
  • Sparge with ~7 gallons to collect 7.65 gallons

Yeast:

Northwest Ale yeast (Wyeast 1332)

Water Additions:

  • 8 gm Calcium Chloride
  • 4 gm Gypsum
  • 2 gm Chalk
2 Responses to “Coffee Porter, It’s What’s For Breakfast”


  1. […] in Autumn and Winter (November-December time period). Last year I had a chocolate porter and a coffee porter on tap as Winter rolled in. I don’t know how many of you got to taste either of these beers, […]


  2. […] next iteration of my Dark Mild Ale, a combined version of last year’s chocolate porter and coffee porter, and a new version of all the Rye Pale Ales I’ve been making. Hopefully I get my yeast in a […]


Leave a Reply

