Week 4 Already?

March 3, 2011

It’s hard to believe that we’re in the middle of week 4 here at Siebel. I’ve been in Chicago for almost a full month and consumed an obscene amount of beer between four different states. What a ride so far!

This week has been all about flavor stability, beer aging, oxidation, spoilage organisms, filtration, haze, etc. It was really interesting to finally learn about the main causes of beer gushing (calcium oxalate precipitation being a primary cause). Of course, as with everything else in brewing, stability of its various factors is a balance. For example: melanoidins are oxygen scavengers that will help with oxygen in a beer bottle, but this new form will actually oxidize alcohols in the beer to form aldehydes that will cause off flavors. Darker beers have lots of melanoidins, so they will age very slowly, but once the melanoidins start oxidizing alcohols, they go downhill quick (depending on oxygen levels, obviously).

So yeah, not much else going on right now around here. It’s amazing how quickly this program is moving, so I’m trying to get the resume out there and get the job search thing rolling. I’ll try to get some more interesting posts up later this week or over the weekend. There are a few topics I want to put some serious time into, but I just haven’t had the motivation lately. Meh.

2 Responses to “Week 4 Already?”

  1. Bill Says:

    Interesting. I wouldn’t mind a chat about this when you’re done (or when you’re not busy, but sounds like that’s not happening any time soon – a good thing!). I’m interested in what could be done either during brewing or in prep for cellaring to properly age some of the stronger homebrew I make.

    • darknova306 Says:

      I’d be happy to. I’ve got my cellaring/maturation/spoilage quiz that I’m studying for tonight, so perfect timing for it to be fresh for me. 🙂 I’m planning to have more of a quiet weekend this week, so we can talk then.


Leave a Reply

