Week 6 Begins: Almost There

March 15, 2011

Only twelve days left until our class flies to Germany. It’s incredible how fast all of this seems to be going. Seems like just yesterday that I was driving for ten straight hours through ridiculous winds to get to Chicago. There have been lots of great stories, and I’m sure they only get better once we’re all drunk in Munich.

This week is looking to be mostly brewery engineering type topics. Today was heat transfer, mix-proof valves, and pumps. It doesn’t sound very interesting, but it’s all vital to an actual production brewery, and the instructors have done a pretty good job with the material. Teaching even the basics of heat transfer in two hours is tough. Between that and the statistics module later this week, I’m in my zone. Yay physics and math… I think… πŸ™‚

With the current topics, this week shouldn’t really be too bad. It’s next week, though, that I’m really looking forward to: case studies and the business of brewing. At the moment I’m not looking to start a brewery at all, but that’s always going to be in the back of my mind. Hell, business knowledge is just good to know in general, so it’s going to be useful no matter what I wind up doing.

As for interesting stories, I wandered around Chicago this past weekend during the St Patrick’s Day parade. I went and watched it from the Jackson and Columbus intersection around 11:30 Saturday morning. To my shock, I didn’t see someone booting in the street until noon. Sigh, Chicago disappointed me. Everyone was hammered, though, so it was full of entertainment for me. Lots of douchebags and drunk, slutty looking girls everywhere. There was no way the day wasn’t going to be awesome.

I wound up getting drunk and talking with lots of interesting people at Goose Island on Clybourn. Basically, I wanted to go to a bar where I knew it wasn’t going to be completely full of drunk idiots before dinner, mainly so I could get some food in peace. It turned out to be a pretty fun night, and didn’t end up incapacitating me for Sunday. I win. πŸ™‚

One Response to “Week 6 Begins: Almost There”

  1. Bill Says:

    You missed out on the kegs and eggs student riots in Albany. Fun times. Sounds like you’re having a great time out there though!


Leave a Reply

