Getting Back Into The Game

August 11, 2011

This weekend I move into the new apartment, which means I finally get to feel settled in and comfortable in my town. Once all the moving and unpacking unpleasantness is finished, I can finally get back into brewing my own beer 🙂 The one downside to the apartment is that I’ll be on the second floor, making it less feasible to get all my brewing equipment outside to brew on the propane burner. The place does have a gas stove, though, and I was able to make an electric stove in Fairport work pretty well so I’m not worried.

Currently the only big concern I have is how my two kegs of homebrew held up in the warm storage unit in Victor for a month and a half. Not well, most likely. Hopefully I won’t need to dump them, but it’s a possibility. Either way, once the chest freezer is available, I’m gonna use it as a fermentation chamber to control temperatures for a bunch of batches. I’m thinking of doing a couple side by side English session beers, like a bitter and a dark mild or some combo like that, then bottling them and using the freezer again for my first two lagers. By the time those lagers would be done, we’d be in the time of year where controlling temperature of a fermentation outside of a fridge isn’t hard, so the chest freezer would once again be a kegerator.

Alright, so my first attempts at putting together the recipes for the next two beers are shown below. Input always welcome. I’m sure I’ll modify things as brewday approaches and I see what ingredients are available at the whatever homebrew store I get to (probably Hennessey in Troy).

Dark Mild:

  • 7.00 lb Maris Otter
  • 0.85 lb Carafa III Special
  • 0.43 lb Crystal 60L
  • 0.43 lb Chocolate Malt
  • 0.50 oz Northern Brewer Hops (60 minutes, 9.8% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Northern Brewer Hops (15 minutes)
  • Yet to be determined British ale yeast
  • Efficiency 85%, OG: 1.042, FG: 1.011
English Bitter:
  • 6.25 lb Maris Otter
  • 0.75 lb Flaked Barley
  • 0.50 lb Munich Malt
  • 0.50 lb Wheat Malt
  • 0.90 oz Northern Brewer Hops (60 minutes, 9.8% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Challenger Hops (15 minutes, 7% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Challenger Hops (End of Boil)
  • Yet to be determined British ale yeast
  • Efficiency 85%, OG: 1.039, FG: 1.010
Leave a Reply

