Back On The Wagon (or something like that)

September 26, 2011

After three months, I’ve finally been able to get my equipment together and setup so I can brew here in Cooperstown. Given how tiny my kitchen is, I kinda figured it would be a bit of a challenge, but it worked out really well. I guess after six years of brewing in weird environments, improvisation becomes second nature.

Leading up to the homebrew competition in early November in Albany, I have decided to tweak some previous recipes and try to nail some of them down. Today I brewed the latest modification of my Dark Mild Ale. In this version I added a couple small hop additions to second half of the boil to give it a little bit more hop character, while increasing the body and adding some creaminess to the mouthfeel by using a small amount of flaked oats.

The only issue with brewing in this setup is that the gas stove boils off more liquid than the electric stove in my previous place, so I’ll need to adjust that in my future recipes.

Dark Mild Ale

Boil Volume:                 8 gallons

Batch Volume:             6.25 gallons

Fermenter Volume:   5 gallons

Starting Gravity:      1.045

Efficiency:                     83%

Malt:

  • 7.50 lb Maris Otter
  • 10 oz Crystal 60L
  •   7 oz Carafa III Special
  •   6 oz Flaked Oats
  •   3 oz Carafa II Special
Hops:

  • 0.60 oz Northern Brewer (60 min, 9.8% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.25 oz Northern Brewer (10 min)
  • 0.50 oz Northern Brewer (End of boil)

 

Mash:

  • Strike with 17.75 qt water at 166F
  • Mash at 150F for 60 minutes
  • Sparge with 5.25 gallons at 180F

 

Yeast:
Wyeast 1098 British Ale Yeast

 

Water Additions:

  • 2 gm Calcium Carbonate
  • 4 gm Calcium Sulfate
  • 9 gm Calcium Chloride
One Response to “Back On The Wagon (or something like that)”


  1. […] Dark Mild – This current version of the dark mild came out really nice. The increased hop rate helped the hops come through just enough to be noticeable. Adding flaked oats and reducing the crystal malt gave the beer a smoother and less cloying body. All in all this batch really came out well, and tastes significantly bigger than the 3.9% ABV that it contains. I may play with the recipe again at some point, but for now I’ll call it finalized. […]


Leave a Reply

