Batch Updates and Pale Ale Brewday

October 17, 2011

Last week Wednesday I did a whole bunch of homebrew related things but never got around to updating this site about it all. First I racked the mocha porter to a secondary fermenter. The gravity dropped from 1.066 to 1.016, giving it an ABV around 6.5%. At that point it had no coffee flavor because I was about to add the coffee beans, lightly ground, to the beer in the secondary fermenter. I prefer to cold extract the coffee in the beer instead of adding it to the boil, as I’ve always extracted a smoother flavor that way in my coffee beers. When I wake up in the morning, At this point, this beer is done and will be bottled when I wake up in the morning.

The next thing I did Wednesday was rack the amber ale to secondary so I could use its yeast cake for another brew that day. The amber’s gravity had dropped from 1.046 to 1.014, giving it around a 4.2% ABV. That’s low for a lot of amber ales available on the market, but I was really going for a session beer with lots of flavor on this one. It’s got a nice body that’s solid but not too heavy to be hard to drink, a very nice sweet malty flavor and aroma, and a firm bitterness that balances it all out in an American amber kinda way. I also added an ounce of Chinook dry hops to the beer in the secondary. There was still a small amount of fermentation activity when I did this, so I’ll be bottling this one late in the week to give it time. This recipe is solid, but probably not really anything special. Still, it’s gonna be a nice session flavorful session beer, which is what I wanted.

The yeast from the amber ale went into the batch of beer I brewed that day. I had originally intended to brew an Imperial IPA, but decided to get an extra beer out of that yeast before jumping up to a strong beer that would stress the yeast too much to reuse. That got me to brew up an American pale ale using some of the Simcoe and Columbus hops I had in the freezer. I was basically aiming for around a 5-5.5% ABV beer with a lightly malty body, a solid bitterness, and a nice citrus and pine aroma.

Pale Ale
Boil Volume: 8.06 Gallons

 

Batch Volume: 6.50 Gallons

Fermenter Volume: 5.25 Gallons

Starting Gravity: 1.053

Efficiency: 75%

Malt

  • 10.00 lb Pale Malt
  •   2.50 lb Munich
Hops

  • 1.00 oz Columbus (60 minutes, 13.2% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (15 minutes, 12.2% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Columbus (15 minutes)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (End of Boil)
  • 0.50 oz Columbus (End of Boil)
  • Dry hops: TBD (Probably Columbus and Chinook)

Mash

  • Strike with 4 gallons at 170F
  • Mash at 152F for 60 minutes
  • Sparge with 6.4 gallons at 180F

Water Additions:

  • 2 gm Calcium Carbonate
  • 4 gm Calcium Chloride
  • 10 gm Calcium Sulfate

Yeast
Wyeast 1332 Northwest Ale Yeast

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Batch Updates and Pale Ale Brewday”

  1. Bill Says:

    Not a bad homebrew week. Ours were bottled today. Samples are quite good. Plenty to be had when you visit to drop off entries!


  2. […] Pale Ale – Given how few beers in Cooperstown are remotely hoppy, I made this beer to be strongly bitter up front with lots of hop character. When I tasted it near the end of fermentation I thought I had gone too overboard with the bittering addition. Now that it’s carbonated and chilled, I really like where it is. The aroma is full of citrus, resin, and pine. The body is light, with a dark straw color. Up front, the bitterness is strong and prominent, but smooth and resiny. The bitterness lingers, but not for long. I really like how this turned out. I’m considering brewing it again with a higher gravity to make an IPA out of it. That could turn out really nice. At 5.3% ABV, it’s not gonna last long. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "3d3d3d"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "bbbbbb"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "3e3e3e"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "bde271"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "amarillo"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "amarillo-ipa"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "amber-ale"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "american-pale-ale"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "brewday"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dark-mild-ale"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "galena"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "ipa"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "northern-brewer"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted by darknova306 Filed in Amarillo, Amarillo IPA, Amber Ale, American Pale Ale, brewday, Dark Mild Ale, Galena, IPA, Northern Brewer, Uncategorized Leave a Comment » […]


Leave a Reply

