Brewday: Munich Pale Ale (and other updates)

October 24, 2011

Since the last post I’ve managed to get two batches bottled, and brewed a new one today. It’s been six days since I bottled the mocha porter, and two days since I bottled the amber ale.  I did a carbonation test on the mocha porter earlier tonight and it was really solid (though not fully carbonated yet). It has a nice roasted coffee aroma, a sweet chocolate taste up front, and a lightly bitter coffee flavor at the end. I’m quite pleased, though I’d probably tone the coffee down just slightly next time.

The sample of the amber ale that I tried after bottling it was also quite nice. It came in at 4.2%, which is what I wanted. There’s a nice rich malty character with a balanced bitterness and a solid up front hop American hop character. This will be a full flavored session beer through and through. I like the pine aroma combined with a subdued citrus character.

Today’s brew was kind of an experiment. The only base malt I have at the moment is Munich, which is kilned higher so it’s sweeter and maltier than pale malt. I decided to make a pale ale using mostly Munich malt to see what I could get out of it. A little caramel Munich will give it a bit of body and sweetness. I used a combination of Northern Brewer and Galena hops to give it sort of a noble earthy character to go with the rich malty character from the Munich malt. I guess this could be considered an American ale version of the Munich Dunkel dark lager style from Germany. It should be a decent session beer regardless.

Pale Ale

Boil Volume: 8.33 gallons

Batch Volume: 6.50 gallons

Fermenter Volume: 5.00 gallons

Starting Gravity: 1.053

Efficiency: 80%

Malt

  • 11.00 lb Munich
  •   0.75 lb CaraMunich
Hops
  • 0.50 oz Galena (60 minutes, 11% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz N Brewer (60 minutes, 9.8% Alpha Acid)
  • 1.00 oz N Brewer (15 minutes)
  • 1.00 oz Galena (5 minutes)
  • 1.00 oz N Brewer (End of Boil)
  • 1.00 oz Galena (End of Boil)
Mash
  • Strike with 3.25 Gallons at 168F
  • Mash at 150F for 60 minutes
  • Sparge with 6.75 Gallons at 180F
Water Additions
  • 3 gm Calcium Chloride
  • 8 gm Calcium Sulfate
Yeast
Wyeast 1332 Northwest Ale Yeast
2 Responses to “Brewday: Munich Pale Ale (and other updates)”


  1. Looks like you’ll have some solid beers in stock again! I need to get my next batch of recipes together. I think I might go basic for a bit just to stock up on ‘drinking beer’. I wish I had a keg fridge instead of bottling everything, but that will come with time.


  2. […] Munich Pale Ale – This was just an experiment to see what a beer would be like if it was almost all Munich malt. It’s a very deep amber color with a rich malty sweetness. Galena and Northern Brewer hops give it a slightly sweet citrus aroma and flavor with some nice spiciness in the background. The bitterness is pretty well balanced and the body is fairly full. I’d say it was a successful experiment, and could the base for a really nice amber ale in the future. […]


Leave a Reply

