Brewing Weekend

November 7, 2011

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve put anything up on here. I’ll try to change that, but I’ve been a combo of busy and lazy recently. My schedule this week will be throwing me off as we’re in a week long production shutdown this week due to an inventory backlog. Without brewing anything for a week, most of the brewers are on vacation, but I’m working with Scott on swing shift (2pm-10pm) all week to do the filtration and cleaning for this week’s packaging schedule. Blarg, I’m not excited about this.

Anyway, as this season’s hop harvest continues to get processed, the hop farmers are beginning to release the new crops to the public for sale. With that, I replenished a large part of my hop stockpile. New bags of Amarillo, Cascade, Citra and Centennial have me nicely stocked. I’m planning on getting me Amarillo IPA brewed again soon, but this weekend I put together my newest version of my rye pale ale, as I continue to work on getting that recipe to where I want it. I also made another, slightly tweaked, version of my dark mild ale last night to replace the previous one that’s almost gone. Double brew weekends are always rewarding 🙂

The two recipes from the weekend are below:

Rye Pale Ale

Boil Volume:  8 gallons

Batch Volume: 6.5 gallons

Fermenter Volume: 5 gallons

Starting Gravity: 1.053

Efficiency: 75%

Malt

  •  11.00 lb Pale Malt
  •   1.50 lb Rye Malt
  •   0.50 lb Munich
Hops
  • 1.00 oz Cascade (60 min, 5.5% AA)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (60 min, 12.2% AA)
  • 1.00 oz Cascade (20 min)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (10 min)
  • 0.50 oz Cascade (10 min)
  • 0.50 oz Simcoe (End of Boil)
  • 0.50 oz Cascade (End of Boil)
  • 0.75 oz Simcoe (dry hop)
  • 0.75 oz Cascade (dry hop)
Water Additions
  • 4 gm Calcium Chloride
  • 10 gm Calcium Sulfate
Yeast
1332 Northwest Ale
Mash
  • Mash with 4 gallons 152F for 60 minutes
  • Sparge with 6.50 gallons at 180F
Dark Mild Ale

Boil Volume: 7.80 gallons

Batch Volume: 6.20 gallons

Fermenter Volume: 5 gallons

Starting Gravity: 1.046

Efficiency: 85%

Malt
  • 7.50 lb Maris Otter
  • 10 oz Crystal 60L
  •   8 oz Carafa II Special
  •   6 oz Chocolate Malt
Hops
  • 0.50 N Brewer (60 min, 9.8% AA)
  • 0.50 N Brewer (10 min)
  • 0.50 N Brewer (End of Boil)
Water Additions
  • 2 gm Calcium Carbonate
  • 4 gm Calcium Sulfate
  • 8 gm Calcium Chloride
Yeast
1098 British Ale
Mash
  • Mash with 4.5 gallons at 156F for 60 minutes
  • Sparge with 5 gallons at 180F
One Response to “Brewing Weekend”

  1. beercommdood Says:

    My blog’s stale as well. Nice double brew weekend! I’m interested in trying the dark mild. I need to brew one up again. You’re dialing nicely into that Rye Pale Ale. The last batch was delicious!


Leave a Reply

