Yet Another Dark Mild Recipe

February 9, 2012

So yesterday before I went to work, I got back to brewing English session beers. I wanted to make another dark mild ale, as that tends to be my favorite lower alcohol beer to keep around, but I decided to use it to experiment with a couple malts I’ve been curious about.

The first malt I wanted to try out was mild ale malt. It’s an English malt that’s kilned a bit higher than pale malt, so it’s a bit darker and I wanted to see what kind of flavor difference it would give. The other malt was pale chocolate malt. I’m not really sure what kind of difference to expect, but I was hoping maybe it’ll smooth out the flavor profile a little bit.

The malt bill wound up being:

  • 7.00 lb Mild Ale Malt
  • 10 oz Crystal 60L
  • 8 oz Pale Chocolate Malt
  • 6 oz Carafa II Special

The hop profile was basically the same as all the other dark milds I make:

  • 0.50 oz Northern Brewer (60 minutes, 9.6% Alpha Acid)
  • 0.50 oz Northern Brewer (15 minutes)
  • 0.50 oz Northern Brewer (End of Boil)

The mash profile was pretty standard: 2.5 gallons of mash water, 154F mash temperature for an hour, 6.75 gallons of sparge water. The water additions were: 4gm calcium sulfate, 8gm calcium chloride, and 2gm calcium carbonate. My efficiency wound up over 80%, and the original gravity was 1.040.

Overall it was a pretty smooth brewday. And the best thing is that this style is usually in a keg for me about a week after I brew it, so I’ll be able to try the experiment pretty soon.

32 Responses to “Yet Another Dark Mild Recipe”

  1. Bill Says:

    I’m (of course) really interested in how this one comes out.

  2. Bill Downs Says:

    Looks like a nice recipe, but if you really want it “on the dark side,’ add a little Black Patent Malt.
    That would make your SRM (Standard Reference Method) rating much higher.
    I really like Chrystal malts, maybe go with some 90 degree too?

    • darknova306 Says:

      It actually came out pretty dark. It’s a very deep brown that borders on being black. The carafa II is as dark as a dark chocolate malt. It cam out pretty tasty. A very deep chocolate flavor with some soft bready malt flavor in support. At 3.6%, it’s gonna be a very easy session beer to pound.

  3. rate us Says:

    Have you considered adding some differing opinions to your article? I think it will really enhance viewers understanding.


  4. I have got one idea for your website. It seems like at this time there are a number of cascading stylesheet issues when opening a selection of webpages in google chrome and internet explorer. It is working fine in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  5. this month Says:

    The look for the site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your blog. I may have to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  6. atlanta dj Says:

    I tried viewing your blog on my new iphone 4 and the format does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not working with your web page.


  7. Mate! This site is cool. How did you make it look this good .


  8. If you dont mind, where do you host your site? I am hunting for a great host and your web site seams to be extremely fast and up all the time


  9. The majority of of the commentary on this blog page dont make sense.

  10. e cig Says:

    Weird , this post turns up with a dark color to it, what color is the primary color on your web-site?


  11. Awesome post . Thank you for, commenting on my blog mate. I shall email you again. I did not know that!


  12. This blog site is very good. How did you make it !?


  13. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried including it to my Google reader account and got nothing.


  14. Is it fine to insert a portion of this in my personal webpage if I submit a reference point to this site?


  15. Cool post ! Cheers for, commenting on my blog page dude! I shall email you again. I didnt realise that.


  16. The look for the weblog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I might need to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  17. save on Says:

    I have got one idea for your weblog. It looks like at this time there are a number of cascading stylesheet troubles when launching a selection of web pages inside google chrome as well as opera. It is functioning fine in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  18. home page Says:

    If you dont mind, where do you host your site? I am shopping for a good quality host and your website seams to be fast and up just about all the time


  19. This is really a amazing website, would you be interested in working on an interview regarding just how you produced it? If so e-mail me and my friends!

  20. save on Says:

    How come you do not have your website viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my iPhone.

  21. mlm Says:

    How come you dont have your site viewable in wap format? Can not see anything in my phone.


  22. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got nothing.


  23. Odd , your post shows up with a black hue to it, what color is the primary color on your site?


  24. The structure for your website is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your weblog. I might need to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.


  25. Re: Whomever created the statement that this was a great website truly needs to get their brain evaluated.


  26. I have got 1 recommendation for your web site. It looks like at this time there are a number of cascading stylesheet problems while launching a selection of web pages inside google chrome and internet explorer. It is working alright in internet explorer. Probably you can double check this.

  27. sponsor Says:

    I enjoy your wordpress design, where did you get a hold of it?


  28. How come you dont have your web site viewable in mobile format? cant view anything in my Droid.


  29. I adore that blog site layout ! How was it made!? Its really nice.


  30. I Will have to return again whenever my course load lets up – however I am taking your Rss feed so i can go through your internet site offline. Cheers.


Leave a Reply

